Our People

Connect with the people of Nebraska Food Science and Technology

Classroom Lecture

Justin Lewis 2019

Faculty

Dr. Curt Weller

Dr. Curtis Weller

Department Head
Professor
FIC 23
402 472 9337
cweller1@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Engineering

Dr. Jennifer Auchtung

Dr. Jennifer Auchtung

Assistant Professor
FIC 263
jauchtung2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Microbiology

Thomas Auchtung

Dr. Thomas Auchtung

Research Assistant Professor
FIC 257
tauchtung2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Microbiology

Dr. Joe Baumert

Dr. Joe Baumert

Director FARRP
Associate Professor

FIC 282
402 472 3070
jbaumert2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr, Andrew Benson

Dr. Andrew Benson

Director Nebraska Food for Health Center
Professor

FIC 115
402 472 5637
abenson1@unl.edu
Area of research: Microbiology

Dr. Andreia Bianchini

Dr. Andreia Bianchini

Associate Professor
FIC 248
402 472 3114
abianchini2@unl.edu
Area of research: Mycotoxins/Food Safety

Byron Chaves

Dr. Byron Chaves

Assistant Professor
FIC 255
402 472 2196
byron.chaves-elizondo@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Microbiology/Food Safety
Applied Food Safety Lab

Deniz Ciftci

Dr. Deniz Ciftci

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 213
402 472 2767
deniz.ciftci@unl.edu
Area of Research: Bioresource and Food Engineering

Dr. Ozan Ciftci

Dr. Ozan Ciftci

Associate Professor
FIC 264
402 472 5686
ciftci@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Lipids

Dr. Jennifer Clarke

Dr. Jennifer Clarke

Professor
FIC 253
402 472 2512
jclarke3@unl.edu
Area of research: Bioinformatics

Dr. Mary-Grace Danao

Dr. Mary-Grace Danao

Research Associate Professor
FIC 244
402 472 1595
mdanao2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Processing

Dr. Melanie Downs

Dr. Melanie Downs

Assistant Professor
FIC 283
402 472 5423
mdowns2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Proteins

Dr. Richard Goodman

Dr. Richard Goodman

Research Professor
FIC 261
402 472 0452
rgoodman2@unl.edu
Area of research: Allergens

Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams

Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 252
402 472 2825
hhallen-adams2@unl.edu
Area of research: Molds & Mycotoxins

Dr. Terry Howell Jr.

Dr. Terry Howell Jr.

FPC Executive Director
Research Professor

FIC 226
402 472 2142
terry.howell@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Engineering

Dr. Robert Hutkins

Dr. Robert Hutkins

Professor
FIC 258
402 472 2820
rhutkins1@unl.edu
Area of research: Biotechnology

Dr. Jacques Izard

Dr. Jacques Izard

Associate Professor
FIC 254
402 472 3068
jizard@unl.edu
Area of Research: Microbiology

Dr. David Jackson

Dr. David Jackson

Vice Provost
Professor

VARH 145
402 472 0075
djackson@nebraska.edu
Area of research: Corn Processing/Products; Starch Chemistry

Dr. Phil Johnson

Dr. Philip Johnson

Assistant Professor
FIC 266
402 472 2278
philip.johnson@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr.Jooyeoun Jung

Dr. Jooyeoun Jung

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 247
402 472 2767
jjung9@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Packaging/Processing

Dr. Mei Lu

Dr. Mei Lu

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 249
402 405 8468
mlu4@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Allergens and Food Chemistry

Dr. Kaustav Majumder

Dr. Kaustav Majumder

Assistant Professor
FIC 256
402 472 3510

Area of research: Food Proteins

Dr. Bismark Martinez

Dr. Bismarck Martinez

Assistant Professor of Scholarly Service
FIC 259
402 405 9440
bmartineztellez2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Microbiology & Safety

Dr. Yulie Meneses

Dr. Yulie Meneses

Research Assistant Professor
FIC 270
402 472 2182
yuliemeneses@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Processing

Dr. Dongjin Park

Dr. Dongjin Park

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 249
262 336 8148
djpark@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Microbiology

Kurt Piepenbrink

Dr. Kurt Piepenbrink

Assistant Professor
FIC 251
402 472 6753
kpiepenbrink2@unl.edu
Area of Research: GI Biology

Dr. Amanda Ramer-Tait

Dr. Amanda Ramer-Tait

Associate Professor
FIC 260
402 472 7293
aramer-tait2@unl.edu
Area of research: Microbiology and Immunology

Dr. Devin Rose

Dr. Devin Rose

Associate Professor
FIC 268
402 472 2802
drose3@unl.edu
Area of research: Grains/Legumes

Dr. Luis Sabillon Galeas

Dr. Luis Sabillon Galeas

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 245
lsabillon@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Processing

Dr. Hyun Seob Song

Dr. Hyun-Seob Song

Associate Professor
FIC 267
402 416 1413
hsong5@unl.edu
Area of research: Metabolic & Microbiome Modeling

Dr. Jayne Stratton

Dr. Jayne Stratton

Research Associate Professor
FIC 246
402 472 2829
jstratton1@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Microbiology

Rossana Villa Rojas

Dr. Rossana Villa Rojas

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 249
402 310 1817
rvillarojas2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Engineering/Food Safety

Dr. Bing Wang

Dr. Bing Wang

Assistant Professor
FIC 250
402 472 2517
bing.wang@unl.edu
Area of research: Risk Analysis

Dr. Randy Wehling

Dr. Randy Wehling

Professor
Academic Program Coordinator
FIC 272
402 472 2857
rwehling1@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Analysis

Mark Wilkins

Dr. Mark Wilkins

Director Industrial Agricultural Products Center
Professor
FIC 267
402 472 8250
mwilkins3@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Processing

Dr. Changmou Xu

Dr. Changmou Xu

Research Assistant Professor
FIC 242
402 472 4635
cxu13@unl.edu
Area of research: Functional Foods

Dr. Yanbin Yin

Dr. Yanbin Yin

Associate Professor
FIC 253
402 472 4303
yyin@unl.edu
Area of research: Genomics and Bioinformatics

Staff

Chris Ebbers

Chris Ebbers

3+1 UNL-NWAFU Success Navigator
472-8398
cebbers3@unl.edu

Sharisa Heier

Sharisa Heier

Assistant to the Department Head
472-2905
sheier3@unl.edu

Justin Lewis

Justin Lewis

Communications, Design, and Computer Support
472-2766
justin.lewis@unl.edu

Julie McManamey

Julie McManamey

Graduate Program Coordinator
472-5301
julie.mcmanamey@unl.edu

Makenna Pardee

Makenna Pardee

Administrative Associate to Dr. John Rupnow
472-5791
mpardee2@unl.edu

Angie Ratekin

Angie Ratekin

Teaching Lab Coordinator
472-0753
aratekin2@unl.edu

Sara Roberts

Sara Roberts

Undergraduate Program Coordinator
472-2843
sroberts14@unl.edu