Faculty

Dr. Curtis Weller

Dr. Curtis Weller

Department Head
Professor
FIC 233 
402 472 9337  
cweller1@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Engineering

Dr. Angela Anandappa

Dr. Angela Anandappa


Director, The Alliance for Advanced Sanitation
Research Assistant Professor
FIC 283
847 778 0567
angela.anandappa@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Sanitation

Dr. Jennifer Auchtung

Dr. Jennifer Auchtung


Assistant Professor
FIC 263
517 488 4990
jauchtung2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Microbiology

Dr. Joe Baumert

Dr. Joe Baumert

Co-Director FARRP
Assistant Professor

FIC 282 
402 472 3070  
jbaumert2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr, Andrew Benson

Dr. Andrew Benson

Director Nebraska Food for Health Center
Professor 

FIC 115
402 472 5637  
abenson1@unl.edu  
Area of research: Microbiology

Dr. Andreia Bianchini

Dr. Andreia Bianchini

Associate Professor
FIC 248 
402 472 3114  
abianchini2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Mycotoxins/Food Safety

Byron Chaves

Dr. Byron Chaves

Assistant Professor
FIC 255
402 472 2196
byron.chaves-elizondo@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Microbiology/Food Safety
Applied Food Safety Lab

Dr. Ozan Ciftci

Dr. Ozan Ciftci

Assistant Professor
FIC 264
402 472 5686
ciftci@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Lipids

Dr. Jennifer Clarke

Dr. Jennifer Clarke

Professor
FIC 253
402 472 2512
jclarke3@unl.edu 
Area of research: Bioinformatics

Dr. Mary-Grace Danao

Dr. Mary-Grace Danao

Research Associate Professor
FIC 244
402 472 1595
mdanao2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Processing

Dr. Melanie Downs

Dr. Melanie Downs

Assistant Professor
FIC 262
402 472 5423
mdowns2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Proteins

Dr. Richard Goodman

Dr. Richard Goodman

Research Professor
FIC 261 
402 472 0452  
rgoodman2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Allergens

Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams

Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 252
402 472 2825  
hhallen-adams2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Molds & Mycotoxins

Dr. Terry Howell Jr.

Dr. Terry Howell Jr.

FPC Executive Director
Research Professor

FIC 226
402 472 2142
terry.howell@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Engineering

Dr. Robert Hutkins

Dr. Robert Hutkins

Professor
FIC 258 
402 472 2820  
rhutkins1@unl.edu  
Area of research: Biotechnology

Dr. Jacques Izard

Dr. Jacques Izard

Associate Professor
FIC 254
402 472 3068
jizard@unl.edu
Area of Research: Microbiology

Dr. David Jackson

Dr. David Jackson

Vice Provost
Professor

VARH 145
402 472 0075
djackson@nebraska.edu
Area of research: Corn Processing/Products; Starch Chemistry

Dr. Phil Johnson

Dr. Philip Johnson

Assistant Professor
FIC 266
402 472 2278
philip.johnson@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr. Mei Lu

Dr. Mei Lu

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 249
402 405 8468
mlu4@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Allergens and Food Chemistry

Dr. Kaustav Majumder

Dr. Kaustav Majumder

Assistant Professor
FIC 263
402 472 3510

Area of research: Food Proteins

Dr. Yulie Meneses

Dr. Yulie Meneses

Research Assistant Professor
FIC 259
402 472 2182
yuliemeneses@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Processing

Dr. Dongjin Park

Dr. Dongjin Park

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 249
262 336 8148
djpark@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Microbiology

Kurt Piepenbrink

Dr. Kurt Piepenbrink

Assistant Professor
FIC 251
402 472 6753
kpiepenbrink2@unl.edu
Area of Research: GI Biology

Dr. Amanda Ramer-Tait

Dr. Amanda Ramer-Tait

Assistant Professor
FIC 260
402 472 7293 
aramer-tait2@unl.edu 
Area of research: Microbiology

Dr. Devin Rose

Dr. Devin Rose

Associate Professor 
FIC 268
402 472 2802  
drose3@unl.edu  
Area of research: Grains/Legumes

Dr. Vicki Shlegel

Dr. Vicki Schlegel

Associate Professor
FIC  284
402 416 0294  
vschlegel3@unl.edu
Area of research: Nutraceuticals & Functional Foods

Dr. Rohita Sinha

Dr. Rohita Sinha

Research Assistant Professor
FIC 257
402 472 5575   
rohita.sinha@unl.edu 
Area of research: Bioinformatics

Dr. Jayne Stratton

Dr. Jayne Stratton

Research Associate Professor
FIC 246 
402 472 2829  
jstratton1@unl.edu 
Area of research: Food Microbiology

Dr. Jeyam Subbiah

Dr. Jeyam Subbiah

Professor
FIC 245 
402 472 4944  
jsubbiah2@unl.ed  
Area of research: Food Engineering

Dr. Steve Taylor

Dr. Stephen Taylor

Co-director FARRP
Professor

FIC 281 
402 472 2833  
staylor2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr. Bing Wang

Dr. Bing Wang

Assistant Professor
FIC 250
402 472 2517 
bing.wang@unl.edu 
Area of research: Risk Analysis

Dr. Randy Wehling

Dr. Randy Wehling

Professor 
FIC 272
402 472 2857  
rwehling1@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Analysis

Dr. Mark Wilkins

Dr. Mark Wilkins

Director Industrial Agricultural Products Center
Professor
FIC 267
402 472 8250 
mwilkins3@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Processing

Dr. Changmou Xu

Dr. Changmou Xu

Research Assistant Professor
FIC 242
402 472 4635 
cxu13@unl.edu  
Area of research: Functional Foods

Dr. Yue Zhang

Dr. Yue Zhang

Assistant Professor
FIC 270
402 472 8583
yue.zhang@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Physical Chemistry