Faculty

Dr. Curtis Weller

Dr. Curtis Weller

Interim Department Head and Professor  
402 472 9337  
cweller1@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Engineering

Dr. Angela Anandappa

Dr. Angela Anandappa


Director, The Alliance for Advanced Food Sanitation
Research Assistant Professor
847 778 0567
angela.anandappa@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Sanitation

Dr. Joe Baumert

Dr. Joe Baumert

Assistant Professor  
402 472 3070  
jbaumert2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr, Andrew Benson

Dr. Andrew Benson

Professor  
402 472 5637  
abenson1@unl.edu  
Area of research: Microbiology

Dr. Andreia Bianchini

Dr. Andreia Bianchini

Associate Professor  
402 472 3114  
abianchini2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Mycotoxins/Food Safety

Jiajia Chen

Dr. Jiajia Chen

Assistant Professor of Practice
jiajia.chen@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Engineering
Dr. Ozan Ciftci

Dr. Ozan Ciftci

Assistant Professor 
402 472 5686
ciftci@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Lipids

Dr. Jennifer Clarke

Dr. Jennifer Clarke

Associate Professor
402 472 2512
jclarke3@unl.edu 
Area of research: Bioinformatics

Dr. Mary-Grace Danao

Dr. Mary-Grace Danao

Research Associate Professor
402 472 1595
mdanao2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Processing

Dr. Melanie Downs

Dr. Melanie Downs

Assistant Professor
402 472 5423
mdowns2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Proteins

Dr. Richard Goodman

Dr. Richard Goodman

Research Professor  
402 472 0452  
rgoodman2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Allergens

Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams

Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams

Assistant Professor  
402 472 2825  
hhallen-adams2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Molds & Mycotoxins

Dr. Robert Hutkins

Dr. Robert Hutkins

Professor  
402 472 2820  
rhutkins1@unl.edu  
Area of research: Biotechnology

Dr. Jacques Izard

Dr. Jacques Izard

Associate Professor
402 472 3068
jizard@unl.edu
Area of Research: Microbiology

Dr. David Jackson

Dr. David Jackson

Vice Provost, Professor
402 472 0075
djackson@nebraska.edu
Area of research: Corn Processing/Products; Starch Chemistry

Dr. Phil Johnson

Dr. Philip Johnson

Assistant Professor
402 472 2278
philip.johnson@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr. Mei Lu

Dr. Mei Lu

Assistant Professor of Practice
mlu4@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Allergens and Food Chemistry

Dr. Kaustav Majumder

Dr. Kaustav Majumder

Assistant Professor
402 472 3510

Area of research: Food Proteins

Dr. Amanda Ramer-Tait

Dr. Amanda Ramer-Tait

Assistant Professor 
402 472 7293 
aramer-tait2@unl.edu 
Area of research: Microbiology

Dr. Devin Rose

Dr. Devin Rose

Associate Professor  
402 472 2802  
drose3@unl.edu  
Area of research: Grains/Legumes

Dr. Vicki Shlegel

Dr. Vicki Schlegel

Associate Professor  
402 416 0294  
vschlegel3@unl.edu
Area of research: Nutraceuticals & Functional Foods

Dr. Rohita Sinha

Dr. Rohita Sinha

Research Assistant Professor   
rohita.sinha@unl.edu 
Area of research: Bioinformatics

Dr. Jayne Stratton

Dr. Jayne Stratton

Research Associate Professor 
402 472 2829  
jstratton1@unl.edu 
Area of research: Food Microbiology

Dr. Jeyam Subbiah

Dr. Jeyam Subbiah

Professor  
402 472 4944  
jsubbiah2@unl.ed  
Area of research: Food Engineering

Dr. Steve Taylor

Dr. Steven Taylor

Professor  
402 472 2833  
staylor2@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr. Bing Wang

Dr. Bing Wang

Assistant Professor 
402 472 2517 
bing.wang@unl.edu 
Area of research: Risk Analysis

Dr. Randy Wehling

Dr. Randy Wehling

Professor  
402 472 2857  
rwehling1@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Analysis

Dr. Mark Wilkins

Dr. Mark Wilkins

Director, Industrial Agricultural Products Center and
Professor
402 472 8250 
mwilkins3@unl.edu  
Area of research: Food Processing

Dr. Changmou Xu

Dr. Changmou Xu

Research Assistant Professor
402 472 4635 
cxu13@unl.edu  
Area of research: Functional Foods

Dr. Yue Zhang

Dr.Yue Zhang

Assistant Professor
402 472 8583
yue.zhang@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Physical Chemistry